Journalism

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner handles Access to Information forms submitted under the Access to Information Act.

Determine which institution holds the information, and submit your request.

This list, alphabetized by institution, provides the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the ATIP Coordinators in all ATIP Offices across the federal government. Any request for federally held information not submitted to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner should be submitted to the relevant Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator on this list.

A companion website to the Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII), CanLII Connects provides authoritative analysis and commentary on Canadian legal matters.

LEGISinfo is an essential research tool for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as: * the text of the bill at various stages; * government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills); * legislative summaries from the Parliamentary Information and Research Service; * important speeches at second reading; * votes; and * coming into force data. In addition, LEGISinfo provides: a reading list; and other related Web links for House of Commons and Senate government bills. By bringing these sources together into one place, LEGISinfo offers easy access to legislative information and reduces time spent researching these matters. LEGISinfo is a collaborative effort of the Senate, the House of Commons and the Library of Parliament.

A user-friendly volunteer-run website that attempts to make the records of Parliament more open and accessible. Get the full text of bills, debates, committee proceedings, etc. Because this is a non-governmental website, it is not authoritative as a citation. Best practice would be to use it as a search aid, then fact-check and cite the LEGISinfo or other governmental site entry.

Full text of debates of the House of Commons (Hansard). Debates are presented by date: within a particular day, you can search by order of business, member, or topic. The complete script of the debate is available to read, and video of any portion of the debate is available to view.

Full Hansard of the Senate of Canada. Advanced Searches can be limited by session, senator, subject, etc. Please note: the search function is only available for 40th Parliament, 3rd Session and later.

Online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.

Searchable by subject, case name, date, docket number, etc.

Search Government of Canada data, digital records, completed Access to Information request summaries, and contracts over $10,000.

List of links to current Government of Canada Departments, Agencies, Crown Corporations, Special Operating Agencies and other related organizations. Organized alphabetically or by ministerial portfolio.

Directory of Canadian public servants.

Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner for Nova Scotia forms. Includes application for access to a record.

Administrators List of contacts for the public bodies subject to the Nova Scotia Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Formerly known as the Nova Scotia Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Review Office.

The 9th annual National Freedom of Information Audit report was prepared for the advocacy group Newspapers Canada by King's Journalism professor Fred Vallance-Jones and Emily Kitagawa, with the assistance of King's journalism students Caora McKenna and Nicholas Holland.

Halifax Regional Municipality's Open Data Catalogue attempts to provide some of the municipally-generated data to the public in a machine-readable format, without the restrictions of copyright, patent or other control mechanisms and, most importantly, free of charge.

This portal includes searchable links to all Administrative Orders and By-Laws for the entire municipality, including some from pre-amalgamation.