LibGuides: Journalism: Find Data and Statistics

Key Resources for Data-Driven and Investigative Journalism in Canada

CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
Census Profile
This profile presents information from the 2021 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, census tracts and health regions. Users can search for an area of interest by typing its 'place name' or by browsing a list, by entering a postal code or a geographic code. The profile includes characteristics such as population, age, sex, dwellings, families, marital status and language.

Data Liberation Initiative: Canadian Census Analyser @CHASS, Trade Analyser @CHASS, CANSIM @CHASS, UT SDA @CHASS This link opens in a new window
Select Canadian Census Analyzer, Trade Analyzer, CANSIM, or UT SDA
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
Blue Book of Canadian Business : Corporate Profiles This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles for over 60 Canadian corporations. The profiles include information on missions/values, history, operations, social responsibility and executive biographies. Information about the top 100 traded stocks and top 100 performing stocks on the Toronto and Montreal stock exchanges is available also. Note: Access to the "Database Search" section is limited to subscribers only.

Halifax Open Data
Search the Halifax Open Data Catalogue.
Nova Scotia Open Data
Open Datasets on Nova Scotia Government Data.
Government of Canada Open Data
Search the Government of Canada's open data produced by ten departments: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Citizenship and Immigration Canada; Environment Canada; Department of Finance Canada; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Library and Archives Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Statistics Canada; Transport Canada and the Treasury Board Secretariat.
Statistics Canada - statistics by subject
Statistics Canada's portal of statistics by subject.

Journalism and Media Studies Key Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Literature* Indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, film and folklore. Includes 1.3 million citations from over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.

Depending on your project, you may find more useful sources for contemporary research in journalism and media studies on journalism organizations' websites, rather than in academic journals in databases. Check the organizations page for links to journalism and media studies organizations.

Newspapers and Journal Articles

As a King's student, you have access to all of Dalhousie's e-resources, including e-books, journal articles, and databases. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your university credentials in order to access them (your NetID and password).

Browse Dalhousie's list of databases here.

Browse Dalhousie's list of e-journals here.

Below is a list of the most commonly used databases for the Journalism Program:

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Currently indexes over 250 sources. Over 500 sources in the database.

Canada NewsWire This link opens in a new window
Full text news releases are searchable by keyword, date, organization, stock symbols, industries, categories and subjects. Includes current year plus 24 months past.
Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes Canadian government and research publications, including depository publications of the federal government and the provinces and territories, scientific and technical report literature, and Canadian dissertations.
Canadian Public Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. The organizations included in this collection represent the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy. Their publications are vital to the understanding of developing issues in every arena of Canadian public life. Over 8000 titles with new titles added every year.
CBCA complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest® Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,600 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. CBCA Complete combines high-quality indexing with direct access to full-text articles. This includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Eureka.cc This link opens in a new window
Eureka.cc gives you access to 2500 sources covering current events on the local, regional, national and international scenes. Formats include: * newspapers * trade publications * databases (corporate histories and profiles) * news wires * radio and television program transcripts * selected blogs * indexed Web sites Newspapers include: L'Acadie Nouvelle, L'Actualité, Cape Breton Post, the Chronicle-Herald, the Daily News, le Devoir, le Droit, the Guardian (Charlottetown), la Presse, le Soleil, the Sunday Herald, the Telegram, the Telegraph-Journal and Voir.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. The older interface will be decommissioned on July 31, 2019. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search through three historical newspapers at once - The Globe & Mail, The New York Times, The Toronto Star
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.