LibGuides: Early Modern Studies Program: Find Journal Articles

Key Databases for EMSP

Databases

As a King's student, you have access to all of Dalhousie's e-resources, including e-books, journal articles, and databases. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your university credentials in order to access them (your NetID and password).

Browse Dalhousie's list of databases here.

Browse Dalhousie's list of e-journals here.

Below is a list of the most commonly used databases for the Early Modern Studies Program:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Digital Dissertations, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world (from 1861 to the present day) together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—this resource offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research.
Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays.
Iter Italicum This link opens in a new window
Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes, between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Literature* Indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, film and folklore. Includes 1.3 million citations from over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Philosophy* Indexes and abstracts the books and over 300 journals in the field of philosophy.

Image Databases

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Archivision This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of images and descriptions of architecture, gardens, parks, landscapes, public art and design, from historic and contemporary sites around the world.
The Great Buildings Collection This link opens in a new window
The Great Buildings Collection is a gateway to architecture from around the world and across history. The Great Buildings Online documents hundreds of buildings and leading architects with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, plus commentaries, bibliographies, and web links, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.