Citing archival material can be challenging given their unique nature. It is always important to include information like the fonds/collection title, item/file name, accession number if available, box/folder number, and the repository name. As a general guide, make sure to clearly communicate what you are referencing and where it is stored.
Example:
University of King's College Alexandra Society fonds. "Alexandra Society scrapbook (General Organization), 1994-2001." UKC.ALEX.2.1994-2001. University of King's College Archives, Halifax, NS.
Copies of archival material are for reference and personal research only. If you wish to publish archival materials, you are responsible for contacting the copyright owner to ask for permission for publication. Archives staff will assist with what they can.
Reference
Hicks, H.D. (1956, October 24). Correspondence from Henry Davies Hicks to the Annapolis County electorate. Henry Davies Hicks fonds (MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/andy-mackay-installed-as-president-of-dal-3549.
In-text citation
Parenthetical citation: (Hicks, 1956)
Narrative citation: Hicks (1956)
Reference
Wilson, B. (2000). Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters by Budge Wilson. Budge Wilson fonds (MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
In-text citation
Parenthetical citation: (Wilson, 2000)
Narrative citation: Wilson (2000)
Some examples of graphic material can include: drawings, posters, paintings, cartoons, comics, prints, and broadsides.
Reference
Doyle, R. (1992). Costume design for Andromache and son. Robert Doyle fonds (MS-3-18, Box 6, Folder 5, Item 5). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/costume-design-for-andromache-and-son.
In-text citation
Parenthetical citation: (Doyle, 1992)
Narrative citation: Doyle (1992)
Some examples of ephemera can include: postcards, posters, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Reference
Dalhousie Student Union. (1986). In Search of the Supernatural [poster]. Dalhousie University Reference Collection (MS-1-Ref, Box 16, Folder 27). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
In-text citation
Parenthetical citation: (Dalhousie Student Union, 1986)
Narrative citation: Dalhousie Student Union (1986)
Reference
Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography. (1981, February 7). Andy MacKay Installed as President of Dal [photograph]. Wamboldt Waterfield Photographic Collection (MS-4-250, Box 74, Folder 7). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/andy-mackay-installed-as-president-of-dal-3549.
In-text citation
Parenthetical citation: (Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography, 1981)
Narrative citation: Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography (1981
In-Text Citations:
MLA follows an author-page format for in-text citation. You should provide enough information within the text to enable readers to locate the full source in the Works Cited page and to differentiate between multiple works by the same author. Usually the author’s surname is sufficient, and/or the date and/or title when citing multiple works by an author or an item with no known author
Example: ... in his letter to the electorate (Hicks, 1956). Voting patterns are treated in later reports (Annapolis County Chamber of Commerce) ....
Works Cited:
General format: Author (last name, first name). Title/description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box/folder/item number. Collection name. Name of repository, location.
Hicks, Henry Davies. Letter to the Annapolis County electorate. 24 October 1956. MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9. Henry Davies Hicks fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Wilson, Budge. Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters. 2000. MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9. Budge Wilson fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Creighton, Catherine. Watercolour painting. [197-]. MS-2-656, Box 12, Folder 6. Catherine Creighton and family fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Dalhousie Student Union. "In Search of the Supernatural" [poster]. 1986. MS-1-Ref, Box 16, Folder 27. Dalhousie University Reference Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography Studio. Photograph of Andy MacKay installed as President of Dalhousie. February 1981. MS-4-250, Box 74, Folder 7. Wamboldt-Waterfield Photographic Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
In the Notes and Bibliography system, sources are cited at the bottom of the page in numbered footnotes, or at the end of each section or chapter in numbered endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. In some cases, sources are then listed in a separate bibliography at the end of the paper.
1. Title or description of item, date (day, month, year), Reference code, Collection name, Repository name, Location of repository. URL if applicable.
In a note, the title of the item should be cited first. Use quotation marks only for specific titles, not for generic terms like report or letter. Capitalize generic terms if they are part of the heading appearing on the manuscript. Generic terms should be lowercased if they are only used as descriptors.
Subsequent citations for the same document, or if using other documents from the same collection, may be shortened. The shortened form is added in parentheses at the end of the first citation.
Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters by Budge Wilson, 2000, MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9, Budge Wilson fonds, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada (hereafter cited as Typescript, Budge Wilson fonds).
Typescript, Budge Wilson fonds.
Last Name, First Name of author. Collection name. Repository name, Location of Repository.
In a bibliography, the citation usually begins with the name of the collection or the last name of the author. List citations alphabetically. Only cite individual items when you have referenced only a single item from a collection.
Letter
Notes
Correspondence from Henry Davies Hicks to the Annapolis County electorate, 24 October 1956, MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9, Henry Davies Hicks fonds, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Bibliography
Henry Davies Hicks fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Notes
Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters by Budge Wilson, 2000, MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9, Budge Wilson fonds, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Bibliography
Budge Wilson fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Notes
Photograph of Andy McKay's installation as Dalhousie president, February 1981, MS-4-250, Box 74, Folder 7, Wamboldt-Waterfield Photographic Collection, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Bibliography
Wamboldt-Waterfield Photographic Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Some examples of graphic material can include: drawings, posters, paintings, cartoons, comics, prints, and broadsides.
Notes
Costume design for Andromache and son, 1992, MS-3-18, Box 6, Folder 5, Item 5, Robert Doyle fonds, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/costume-design-for-andromache-and-son.
Bibliography
Robert Doyle fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Some examples of ephemera can include: postcards, posters, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Notes
Poster for Dalhousie Student Union event, "In Search of the Supernatural," 1986, MS-1-Ref, Box 16, Folder 27, Dalhousie University Reference Collection, Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Bibliography
Dalhousie University Reference Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Basic Format: (Collection Title Date)
Dates of individual items should be mentioned in the text, when applicable. In such cases, it is not necessary to add the date along with the collection title in parentheses.
Basic Format: Collection Name. Repository Name, Repository Location. URL.
In-text citation
Hicks outlined his position in a letter to the Annapolis County electorate dated October 24, 1956 (Henry Davies Hicks fonds).
Bibliography
Henry Davies Hicks fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
In-text citation
Hicks outlined his position in a letter to the Annapolis County electorate dated October 24, 1956 (Henry Davies Hicks fonds).
Bibliography
Hicks, Henry Davies. 24 October 1956. Letter from Henry Davies Hicks to the Annapolis County electorate. MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9, Henry Davies Hicks fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia.