LibGuides: Foundation Year Program: Find Journal Articles

Novanet Catalogue

The Novanet Catalogue brings together all of the physical books and digital resources students have access to through the Library, including articles from the databases below.
Start your search with Novanet to find all the best resources.

Key Databases for FYP

Databases

As a King's student, you have access to all of Dalhousie's e-resources, including e-books, journal articles, and databases. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your university credentials in order to access them (your NetID and password).

Browse Dalhousie's list of databases here.

Browse Dalhousie's list of e-journals here.

Below is a list of the most commonly used databases for the Foundation Year Program:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Literature* Indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, film and folklore. Includes 1.3 million citations from over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Philosophy* Indexes and abstracts the books and over 300 journals in the field of philosophy.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals, more than half of which are published in partnership with international scholarly and professional associations. Wiley covers the full spectrum of science, medicine, technology, business, social sciences, and the humanities, and includes many titles ranked at the forefront of their fields. Dalhousie subscribes to most Wiley journals but only selected books. Look for the "unlocked" icon which signals access.

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.

Image Databases

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Archivision This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of images and descriptions of architecture, gardens, parks, landscapes, public art and design, from historic and contemporary sites around the world.
The Great Buildings Collection This link opens in a new window
The Great Buildings Collection is a gateway to architecture from around the world and across history. The Great Buildings Online documents hundreds of buildings and leading architects with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, plus commentaries, bibliographies, and web links, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.