LibGuides: Master of Fine Arts in Creative Nonfiction: Find Newspaper &amp; Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

Databases

As a King's student, you have access to all of Dalhousie's e-resources, including e-books, journal articles, and databases. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your university credentials in order to access them (your NetID and password).

Browse Dalhousie's list of databases here.

Browse Dalhousie's list of e-journals here.

Below is a list of the most commonly used databases for the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Nonfiction Program:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
Film & Television Literature Index with full text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Literature* Indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, film and folklore. Includes 1.3 million citations from over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. The older interface will be decommissioned on July 31, 2019. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Philosophy* Indexes and abstracts the books and over 300 journals in the field of philosophy.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search through three historical newspapers at once - The Globe & Mail, The New York Times, The Toronto Star
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals, more than half of which are published in partnership with international scholarly and professional associations. Wiley covers the full spectrum of science, medicine, technology, business, social sciences, and the humanities, and includes many titles ranked at the forefront of their fields. Dalhousie subscribes to most Wiley journals but only selected books. Look for the "unlocked" icon which signals access.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Image Databases

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Archivision This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of images and descriptions of architecture, gardens, parks, landscapes, public art and design, from historic and contemporary sites around the world.
The Great Buildings Collection This link opens in a new window
The Great Buildings Collection is a gateway to architecture from around the world and across history. The Great Buildings Online documents hundreds of buildings and leading architects with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, plus commentaries, bibliographies, and web links, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.