Sometimes your research will require you to locate primary resources, such as original documents, journals from the time period, etc. The databases listed below are helpful for finding these types of resources.
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
The study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture has now become one of the most vibrant areas of social, cultural and intellectual research, transcending traditional disciplinary boundaries. This exciting collection of original source material from British and European archives will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Thematic Areas * Conduct and Politeness * Domesticity and the Family * Consumption and Leisure * Education and Sensibility * The Body
Early English Books Online contains the page-image full text of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. New content is added to this collection throughout the year.
Full-text database that makes available more than 155,000 volumes and over 30 million pages of historical works in essence, every accessible English-language and foreign-language title published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.Please note: Library has access to Part One only.
The Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815 offers seamless, integrated access to Sections I and II of our digital project Eighteenth Century Journals. This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion. Eighteenth Century Journals I contains material from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford. The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world, and it was from here that items for Eighteenth Century Journals II were selected.
Empire Online will have brought together over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library. There is both manuscript and printed material and a broad range of document types; written from both the European and the non-European perspective. We have also endeavoured to cover all continents. There are a number of documents included in Empire Online which relate the story of Empire from French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. The focus of the project is on original documents and thus a number of these texts are not in English.
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. The Timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on The Met collection.
A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World.
InteLex has been publishing the Past Masters® series of full-text humanities databases. We are focused on the needs of the scholarly community in the human sciences. InteLex assembles and publishes cohesive collections of excellent editions, in both original language and in English translation. Past Masters series includes a collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy ; significant databases in the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology ; a collection of English Letters in electronic form, in conjunction with Oxford University Press and Pickering & Chatto. This collection encompasses the letters, correspondence, and in some instances the diaries and the notebooks of the most significant figures in English literature, letters, politics, the church and the arts.
Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher. Smarthistory offers content by hundreds of leading scholars (art historians, archaeologists, and museum curators).
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. The project offers: * High quality greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere. Some illustrative content is provided in full colour. * A powerful portal with links to other significant online sources approved by leading scholars. * A series of contextual essays by leading authorities from around the world. Each essay will have hypertext links to the primary sources it discusses.
Women Writers Online, presents all WWP texts currently available online, covering a period from 1400 to 1850. All of these texts can be browsed, searched, and analysed using tools which provide access to the full XML encoding.