LibGuides: Early Modern Studies Program: Research, Writing, & Citing Sources

Research, Writing, & Citing Sources

Find information on the most common citation styles (MLA, Chicago, and APA), along with resources to help organize your references and guides on avoiding plagiarism. Check with your instructor to find out which format is preferred.

The definitive guide to each of these citation styles is available in the Reference collection in the Reading Room of the King's Library. There are also guides available online.

Citation Comparison Chart
APA, MLA, and Chicago style are contrasted in this chart from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

The concise APA handbook by Iida, Paul Chamness; American Psychological Association.
ISBN: 1648021859
Publication Date: 2020
An online copy of the official 7th Edition APA Handbook is available to you whenever you need it.

OWL @ Purdue - APA Style
Developed by The Writing Lab at Purdue University, OWL @ Purdue gives a comprehensive overview of APA style citations for a variety of sources, and provides a collection of examples for each.
APA Style Quick Reference Guide
Created by Dalhousie University, this is a quick reference guide of examples of APA style citations.
Dal Libraries APA Style Quick Guide (7th ed.)
This guide provides examples for selected research sources based on style recommendations from the Publication Manual
of the American Psychological Association: The official guide to APA style (7th ed., 2020). This replaces the 6th ed. (2010).

The Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
Call Number: Z 253 U69 2017
ISBN: 022628705X
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Available from the Reference Collection in the King's Library, this is the definitive guide on how to cite sources using Chicago Style.

OWL @ Purdue - Chicago Style
Developed by The Writing Lab at Purdue University, OWL @ Purdue gives a comprehensive overview of Chicago style citations for a variety of sources, and provides a collection of examples for each.
Citing Canadian Government Documents - Simon Fraser University
Developed by Simon Fraser University, this guide gives a comprehensive overview of citing Canadian Government documents using Chicago Style.
Chicago Style Quick Reference Guide
Created by Dalhousie University, this is a quick reference guide of examples of Chicago style citations.

MLA Handbook (9th Edition) by LB 2369 M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements.

MLA Style Quick Reference Guide
Created by Dalhousie University, this is a quick reference guide featuring examples of MLA style citations from the MLA Handbook (9th edition), published in 2021.
OWL @ Purdue - MLA Style
Developed by The Writing Lab at Purdue University, OWL @ Purdue gives a comprehensive overview of MLA style citations for a variety of sources, and provides a collection of examples for each.

There are a variety of resources available to you that will assist you with organizing your references and ensuring your citations are correct. Here are a few listed below

Citation Management LibGuide by Dalhousie
This guide is designed to familiarize users with the basics of citation management, and some common products.
NCSU Library Citation Builder
Developed by the North Carolina State University Library, this citation builder allows you to input the information of the item you want to cite and choose the style of citation. This tool can be used for practicing creating citations as you are learning how to create them on your own.

King's Academic Policies
An overview of King's probation and dismissal policies, as well as resources to help you meet academic integrity standards.
Dalhousie's Academic Integrity Website
Resources and information on plagiarism guidelines and Dalhousie's disciplinary procedures.
Dalhousie Writing Centre's Academic Integrity Libguide
Some useful tools and tutorials put together by the Writing Centre to help you avoid plagiarism.