LibGuides: History of Science and Technology Program: Find Journal Articles

Key Databases for HOST

As a King's student, you have access to all of Dalhousie's e-resources, including e-books, journal articles, and databases. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your university credentials in order to access them (your NetID and password).

Browse Dalhousie's list of databases here.

Browse Dalhousie's list of e-journals here.

Below is a list of the most commonly used databases for the History of Science and Technology Program:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Digital Dissertations, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world (from 1861 to the present day) together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—this resource offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Philosophy* Indexes and abstracts the books and over 300 journals in the field of philosophy.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 2200 full text journals covering Agriculture, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science,Health Sciences, Immunology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physics, Psychology and the Social Sciences. Search across all journals or subsets of journals, abstracts, databases, and reference works. Dalhousie users may register for free "alerts" services and other customizable options. Also included in ScienceDirect are over 500 full text books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 scholarly journals spanning all areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.
Web of Science Citation Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded covering over 5,600 journals, Social Sciences Citation Index covering 1,700 journals and selectively covering relevant items from over 5,600 leading science and social sciences journals and Arts & Humanities Citation Index covering over 1,140 journals and selectively covering relevant items from over 7,000 leading science and social databases.

An Analytic Bibliography of Online Neo-Latin Texts
Particularly recommended for science texts from the Renaissance and later, although useful for many other fields of study. This bibliography contains links to freely-available digitized texts on the web.